It’s Going To Be Really Hard To Pick One Winner From These 11 Puskás Award Nominees

The Puskás Award nominees were announced Monday and they’re all bangers.

FIFA announced the 2021 Puskás Award nominees on Monday and once again it’s a list of all-time bangers. The 11 goals include scorpion kicks, rabonas, bicycle kicks, audacious chips and goals from midfield — and Tottenham Hotspur could repeat as winner.

The Puskás Award is voted upon by two groups with equal electoral weight: an international panel of “FIFA Legends” and fans, who can vote here through Dec. 17

Last year, Son Heung-min won the Puskás for his pitch-length solo goal against Burnley. A Spurs player could win again if the vote goes the way of former Tottenham winger Érik Lamela, who is nominated for his rabona goal against Arsenal. (I feel obligated to mention the Gunners won that match 2-1 and Lamela was sent off in the second half.)

Érik Lamela 2021 Puskás Award Nominee Goal

Some of the other top 2021 Puskás Award nominees include Caroline Weir’s amazing chip against Manchester United, Luis Díaz’s amazing bicycle kick in the Copa América, Riyad Mahrez’s incredible control/solo goal for Algeria and Patrik Schick’s unforgettable goal from midfield at Euro 2020

Here’s a quick video and list of all 11 2021 Puskás Award nominees below. Click here for longer versions of the highlights, but unfortunately we can’t embed them because FIFA has weird rules against embedding their YouTube videos. 

2021 Puskás Award Nominees

  • Luis Díaz (COL): Brazil v. Colombia [CONMEBOL Copa América] (23 June 2021)
  • Gauthier Hein (FRA): Chamois Niortais FC v. AJ Auxerre [Ligue 2] (10 April 2021)
  • Érik Lamela (ARG): Arsenal FC v. Tottenham Hotspur FC [Premier League] (14 March 2021)
  • Valentino Lazaro (AUT): Bayer 04 Leverkusen v. Borussia VfL 1900 Mönchengladbach [Bundesliga] (8 November 2020)
  • Riyad Mahrez (ALG): Zimbabwe v. Algeria [CAF Africa Cup of Nations qualifying] (16 November 2020)
  • Sandra Owusu-Ansah (GHA): Kumasi Sports Academy Ladies FC v. Supreme Ladies FC [Ghana Women’s Premier League] (8 May 2021)
  • Vangelis Pavlidis (GRE): Willem II v. Fortuna Sittard [Eredivisie] (16 May 2021)
  • Daniela Sánchez (MEX): Querétaro FC v. Atlético de San Luis [Liga MX Femenil] (16 January 2021)
  • Patrik Schick (CZE): Czech Republic v. Scotland [UEFA EURO 2020] (14 June 2021)
  • Mehdi Taremi (IRN): Chelsea FC v. FC Porto [UEFA Champions League] (13 April 2021)
  • Caroline Weir (SCO): Manchester City WFC v. Manchester United WFC [FA Women’s Super League] (12 February 2021)

Videos you might like