Monterrey Wins Liga MX Title Following Dramatic PK Shootout

Rayados are the Apertura champions following an incredible triumph at the Azteca.

Fresh off cementing their reputation as the third-best team in the world, Rayados have captured the 2019 Liga MX Apertura title after a brilliant performance inside the house of the beast. Club América sent the Estadio Azteca into raptures in the first half when overturning a 2-1 aggregate deficit with two fine goals, but Monterrey came roaring back in the second half through Rogelio Funes Mori and could’ve captured the title in regular time if not for the heroics of Memo Ochoa. 

Monterrey’s one-goal aggregate lead lasted only six minutes. Federico Viñas was the goalscorer for Las Águilas with Renato Ibarra providing the assist.  

Shortly before halftime, Richard Sánchez put América ahead 3-2 on aggregate with a goal that made the cameras inside the Azteca shake.  

However, Rayados found the equalizer in the 75th minute through the hero of the first leg, Rogelio Funes Mori. 

Monterrey was in the ascendency but for Memo Ochoa. 

We had the drama of penalties after, but Rayados would not be denied. 

Videos you might like