USMNT Youth Movement Continues For High Profile Friendlies Vs. Brazil, Mexico

Interim USMNT manager Dave Sarachan has named his 24-man roster for upcoming friendlies against Brazil (Sept. 7) and Mexico (Sept. 11), including 14 players age 23 and under. Christian Pulisic is the big name absentee after the winger suffered an injury while training with Borussia Dortmund, while 25-year-old New York Red Bulls defender Aaron Long is the only uncapped player in the squad.

Newcastle United defender DeAndre Yedlin, who's been in fine form to begin the EPL season with a goal and an assist in three matches, leads all representatives with 52 caps to his name. Up top, Gyasi Zardes — the leading American scorer in MLS this season with 15 goals in 27 games — will look to add to his international totals, and USMNT supporters will be excited to get another glimpse at 21-year-old Andrija Novakovich, who’s gotten off to a fine start with the Eredivisie’s Fortuna Sittard.

But the attacker that’ll generate the most headlines is undoubtedly 18-year-old Tim Weah, who’s forced himself into first team contention at PSG this season 

We could see the same midfield that anchored the USMNT’s 1-1 draw with France before the World Cup (Wil Trapp, Weston McKennie and Tyler Adams), but there’s also room for the reinvigorated Kellyn Acosta and Sebastian Lletget’s first recall in 16 months. 

In defense, John Brooks is in line to make his first appearance of 2018 after missing time through injury. 

The USMNT begins play with a match against Brazil on Sept. 7 at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey. Coverage of that match will begin on FS1 at 7:30 p.m. ET.

The U.S. then plays Mexico on Sept. 11 at Nissan Stadium in Nashville. Coverage begins at 7:30 p.m. CT on ESPN. See below for the complete rosters of the USMNT, Brazil and Mexico.   

USMNT Roster 2018 (Club; Caps/Goals)

Goalkeepers (3): Alex Bono (Toronto FC; 1/0), Ethan Horvath (Club Brugge; 2/0), Zack Steffen (Columbus Crew SC; 3/0)

Defenders (9): John Brooks (Wolfsburg; 33/3), Cameron Carter-Vickers (Swansea City; 4/0), Eric Lichaj (Hull City; 15/1), Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls; 0/0), Matt Miazga (Nantes; 7/1), Shaq Moore (Reus Deportiu; 2/0), Tim Parker (New York Red Bulls; 2/0), Antonee Robinson (Wigan Athletic; 2/0), DeAndre Yedlin (Newcastle United; 52/0)

Midfielders (9): Kellyn Acosta (Colorado Rapids; 17/1), Tyler Adams (New York Red Bulls; 5/0), Paul Arriola (D.C. United; 16/2), Julian Green (Greuther Fürth; 10/4), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy; 3/1), Weston McKennie (Schalke; 4/1), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC; 3/0), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC; 6/0), Tim Weah (Paris Saint-Germain; 3/1)

Forwards (3): Andrija Novakovich (Fortuna Sittard; 2/0), Bobby Wood (Hannover 96; 39/12), Gyasi Zardes (37/6; Columbus Crew SC)

Brazil Roster (9/7/18 in New Jersey)

Goalkeepers (3): Alisson (Liverpool), Hugo (Flamengo), Neto (Valencia)

Defenders (8): Alex Sandro (Juventus), Dedé (Cruzeiro), Fabinho (Liverpool), Fagner (Corinthians), Felipe (Porto), Filipe Luís (Atlético Madrid), Marquinhos (Paris Saint-Germain), Thiago Silva (Paris Saint-Germain)

Midfielders (8): Andreas Pereira (Manchester United), Arthur (Barcelona), Casemiro (Real Madrid), Fred (Manchester United), Lucas Paquetá (Flamengo), Philippe Coutinho (Barcelona), Renato Augusto (Beijing Gouan), Willian (Chelsea)

Forwards (5): Douglas Costa (Juventus), Éverton (Grêmio), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain), Pedro (Fluminense)

Mexico Roster (9/11/18 in Nashville)

Goalkeepers (3): Hugo González (Necaxa), Gibrán Lajud (Tijuana), Guillermo Ochoa (Standard Liège)

Defenders (8): José Abella (Santos Laguna), Oswaldo Alanís (Real Oviedo), Edson Álvarez (Club América), Jesús Angulo (Tijuana), Gerardo Arteaga (Santos Laguna), Jesús Gallardo (Monterrey), Luis Rodríguez (Tigres UANL), Carlos Salcedo (Eintracht Frankfurt)

Midfielders (9): Erick Aguirre (Pachuca), Roberto Alvarado (Cruz Azul), Jonathan dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Jonathan González (Monterrey) Erick Gutiérrez (Pachuca), Víctor Guzmán (Pachuca), Elías Hernández (Cruz Azul), Diego Lainez (Club América), Orbelín Pineda (Guadalajara)

Forwards (5): Hirving Lozano (PSV Eindhoven), Raúl Jiménez (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Rodolfo Pizarro (Monterrey), Alan Pulido (Guadalajara), Ángel Zaldívar (Guadalajara) 

Videos you might like