Ref Awards Questionable PK, Goalie Saves It — Twice
Get the best email in soccer.
Sparta Rotterdam goalkeeper Roy Kortsmit had to work a bit of overtime on Friday night. After a questionable penalty was awarded to AZ Alkmaar, Kortsmit saved it not once but twice.
Although it’s easy to see why the referee called for a foul in the box, slow-motion replay shows Sparta defender Sheral Floranus poked the ball away before taking down Thomas Ouwejan.
No worries, Kortsmit resolutely saved the ensuing penalty shot from Wout Weghorst like some sort of Tim Krul Clone to keep the match scoreless. Only the assistant referee ruled (correctly) Kortsmit left his line early and the penalty must be retaken.
After receiving a yellow, presumably for dissent for complaining about the call, Kortsmit again took his spot on the line with Weghorst again lining up a shot. Again, Kortsmit saved the shot and the match remained level. Kortsmit appeared to leave his line a little early on the second shot as well, but only a monster would have demanded a third shot be taken.
Unfortunately for Kortsmit and Sparta, Weghorst had the last laugh. He scored 11 minutes later and added another in the second half has AZ Alkmaar won 2-0 to, at least temporarily, move to second in the Eredivisie.