U.S. Draws Trinidad & Tobago In Gold Cup, First Meaningful Competition Since World Cup Failure

The U.S. will face Guyana, Panama and Trinidad & Tobago in the 2019 Gold Cup.

The last time the USMNT played a meaningful match, it was that horrific loss to Trinidad and Tobago in October of 2017, keeping the Americans out of the 2018 World Cup. After the 2019 Gold Cup draw, the U.S. will be seeing the Soca Warriors once again in their next competitive match.

The U.S. was drawn against Trinidad and Tobago, Panama and Guyana in Group D of the 2019 Gold Cup draw on Wednesday, setting the stage for Concacaf’s biennial championship.

2019 Gold Cup Draw

Group A: Mexico, Canada, Martinique, Cuba 
Group B: Costa Rica, Haiti, Nicaragua, Bermuda 
Group C: Honduras, Jamaica, El Salvador, Curacao 
Group D: USA, Panama, Trinidad & Tobago, Guyana

2019 Gold Cup Draw

Screenshot: FOX Soccer | YouTube

The most interesting group by far is Group A, where Mexico and Canada will face off along with Martinique and Cuba. Despite a low FIFA ranking (and thus a lower seed), Canada is one of the brightest, up-and-coming teams in the entire Western Hemisphere with the likes of Bayern Munich’s Alphonso Davies. 

Mexico will play Canada at Mile High Stadium in Denver. The tournament will begin with Canada against Martinique and Mexico vs. Cuba at the Rose Bowl on June 15

While most of the tournament will be held in the United States, two of the groups will begin play outside of the U.S.

Costa Rica headlines Group B, which will play its opening matches in Sane José, Costa Rica. Group C should be wide open, but expect Jamaica to go through with the first matches being held in Kingston, Jamaica. 

The USMNT will open the tournament against Guyana at Allianz Field in Saint Paul, Minnesota. Next up is a rematch with the Soca Warriors at FirstEnergy Stadium in Cleveland. Finally, the U.S. closes group play with Panama at Children’s Mercy Park in Kansas City.

With four groups full of Concacaf teams, no third-place teams will reach the knockout rounds, as has been the case in recent tournaments. Instead, the top two teams in each group advance to the quarterfinals, which will be at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia and NRG Stadium in Houston (which also hosts Group C matches at BBVA Compass Stadium). The semifinals will be in Glendale, Arizona, and Nashville, Tennessee.

The final is set for July 7 at Soldier Field in Chicago. Yes, that’s the same day as the Women’s World Cup final. And the Copa America final.

Good job scheduling, guys. 

Videos you might like