Here’s the guide on how Concacaf nations can qualify for Copa América 2024

For fans asking how does Copa América 2024 qualifying work this article is here to explain the process for making it to the most prestigious international tournament in the Americas.

Next summer the Copa América will be held in the United States for the first time since 2016. The U.S. hosting the tournament doesn’t automatically qualify the USMNT for the tournament.

How does Copa América 2024 qualifying work explained

A total of 16 teams will partake in the tournament with all 10 CONMEBOL members and six Concacaf guests.

South American teams that qualify

The South American teams that qualify is incredibly straight forward. All 10 countries of the confederation — Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Uruguay, Ecuador, Venezuela, Paraguay, Peru and Bolivia — automatically qualify.

Concacaf teams that qualify

Six teams from Concacaf will participate in the tournament and the qualification will be determined in November and March.

Qualification takes place through the Concacaf Nations League. The four winning teams of the two-legged quarterfinals played in November will book their ticket for Copa América 2024.

Those quarterfinal games wrapped up on Tuesday, Nov. 22 with four teams securing a spot in Copa América 2024.

Concacaf teams qualified so far

  • United States
  • Mexico
  • Jamaica 
  • Panama

The teams that lost in the quarterfinals will still have a chance to qualify. The four losers will be drawn against one of the other losers and play a single elimination game. 

Copa América play-in games (for Concacaf Nations League quarterfinal losers)

  • Canada vs. Trinidad and Tobago
  • Honduras vs. Costa Rica

The two winners of these March play-in games will qualify for Copa América 2024.

The winners of the quarterfinal games advance to the Concacaf Nations League semifinals which will also be played in March.

Videos you might like