'LA 15' — Club América win Clausura 2024 to become back-to-back Liga MX champions for first time ever

La 15’ has arrived.

América becomes Liga MX back-to-back champion after defeating Cruz Azul

Club América became Liga MX’s Clausura 2024 champions on Sunday after defeating city-rival Cruz Azul to win back-to-back titles for the first time ever at the iconic Estadio Azteca. A record 15th title for the azulcremas.

The only goal of the match came in the 78th minute after América were awarded a penalty following a clumsy tackle from Cruz Azul’s Carlos Rotondi on Israel Reyes. USMNT’s Alejandro Zendejas, recovered the ball and provided the silky outside-the-foot assist for Reyes prior to the call.

This gave captain Henry Martín the chance to put Las Águilas ahead for the first time in the series and after a solid penalty, kicked to the opposite side of the goalkeeper, the 31-year-old Mexican sent the Azteca into a frenzy.

América’s Luis Ángel Malagón had an extraordinary performance, recording five saves and having multiple key moments throughout the match that kept the clean sheet for the home side. Malagón is set to become El Tri’s starting goalkeeper in the Copa América after the legendary Guillermo Ochoa’s confirmed absence.

This latest title conquest turned the club into only the fourth Liga MX team to ever win back-to-back titles since the introduction of the Liguilla format (six-month tournaments) in 1996, becoming the first to ever do so while finishing both tournaments as league-leaders. The definition of greatness.

Embed from Getty Images

Club América vs. Cruz Azul | Liga MX Clausura 2024 Final highlights

Videos you might like