No Hope: Bocanegra Voted Into National Soccer Hall Of Fame But Not Solo

Atlanta United technical director Carlos Bocanegra was elected to the National Soccer Hall of Fame on Tuesday.

The former U.S. Men's National Team captain is the lone member of the Class of 2020 and will be enshrined in 2021.

Bocanegra, 41, wore the captain's armband in 64 of his 110 appearances with the USMNT form 2001-12. He played in two World Cups (2006, 2010) and his 14 international goals are the most ever by an American defender.

"I'm very proud," Bocangera said. "It's been my whole adult life, and as a kid as well, playing soccer and being a part of this sport. I'm very fortunate now to work in the game here with Atlanta United and I love it. I want to give back, I want to continue to build the game and grow it like so many others before me did and gave me these opportunities. I'm real proud to be a part of history and this is a great honor."

He began a 15-year professional career as the MLS Rookie of the Year with the Chicago Fire in 2000. He was the MLS Defender of the Year in 2002 and 2003 before moving to Europe for stints in England's Premier League, France's Ligue 1 and Scotland's Premier League. He returned to the U.S. and finished his career with Chivas USA in 2013-14.

He joined the Atlanta United as technical director in 2015.

Bocanegra will become the 305th person enshrined in the Hall of Fame. He was named on 68.5 percent of the ballots, just above the minimum threshold of 66.7 percent.

Meanwhile, Hope Solo received 57.3 percent of the vote and will not be elected into the Hall of Fame this year despite having won a Women’s World Cup and widely being considered the greatest goalkeeper of all time. Others passed up in this flawed voting system include Shannon Boxx, Lauren Holiday, Kate Markgraf, Steve Cherundolo and Jaime Moreno.

Videos you might like