VAR magic – Ángel Correa becomes the first player in history to celebrate a goal after being subbed off

VAR just gave us one of the most wholesome and unusual moments of the season so far. Yes, VAR has done something good.

Correa's disallowed goal gets overturned after being substituted

In Saturday’s LaLiga match between Atlético Madrid and Getafe, Ángel Correa became the first player to celebrate a goal after being substituted. How so?

In the 60th minute, Correa scored a beautiful volley to put the Colchoneros ahead 1-0 only for the goal to be disallowed almost immediately for an offside position.

Seconds later and while the VAR review was in process, Diego Simeone decided to substitute the Argentine off the pitch. In the 62nd minute, with the VAR check still happening and Correa already sitting on the bench with the team’s down jacket, referee Antonio Mateu Lahoz overturned the decision and awarded the goal for the home team. 

The scenes? One-of-a-kind.

Hate the new technology all you want, but more often than not, VAR has done justice and given us moments of frustrated goal-scoring glory for players like Ángel Correa who were punished by repercussions of human error.

At the end of the day, the VAR overturning lost significance as Atlético ended up losing the lead and conceding a penalty to Getafe’s Eres Ünai who tied the game in the 83rd minute. Can’t have everything.

Videos you might like