What is The CONCACAF Champions League?

Every year 16 teams compete from February to May to decide the club champion of North America.

Ten teams will qualify based on league performance. 

4 clubs from the United States, 4 clubs from Mexico, 1 club from Canada, and 1 club from the Caribbean Club Championship

The top 6 teams from last year’s CONCACAF League will also qualify.

This in total rounds out the 16 teams for the tournament. 

Club América & Cruz Azul are the most successful clubs in the competition's history.

The second most successful teams have been from Costa Rica's Primera División. 

In its current format, no MLS team has ever won the tournament, and has never been sent to the FIFA Club World Cup.

The Winner of The Champions League will then advance to the quarterfinals of the FIFA Club World Cup, but does not automaticly qualify for the next years Champions League tournament. 

Videos you might like