The Boston Breakers Have Reportedly Folded

The NWSL is apparently down to nine teams after the Breakers' demise.

The Boston Breakers, formerly the longest-continuously-operating women's soccer team in the United States, has folded. Players were notified on Wednesday.

The NWSL now has nine teams: Sky Blue FC, Orlando Pride, Chicago Red Stars, North Carolina Courage, Portland Thorns, Seattle Reign, Houston Dash and Washington Spirit.

Videos you might like