Mexico Announces Final Copa America Roster

Mexico National Team manager Juan Carlos Osorio named the 23 players he will take to the Copa America Centenario.

The 23 players who will represent the Mexico National Team at the Copa America Centenario have been announced, and there were more than a few controversies. Here's the final roster (barring injury):

Mexico National Team 23-Man Copa America Roster


—Memo Ochoa (Malaga)

—Jose Corona (Cruz Azul)

—Alfredo Talavera (Toluca)


—Rafa Marquez (Atlas)

—Diego Reyes (Real Sociedad)

—Hector Moreno (PSV Eindhoven)

—Paul Aguilar (Club America)

—Miguel Layun (Porto)

—Nestor Araujo (Santos Laguna)

—Yasser Corona (Queretaro)

—Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres)


—Andres Guardado (PSV Eindhoven) 

—Hector Herrera (Porto) 

—Jesus Duenas (Tigres UANL), 

—Carlos Pena (Chivas) 

—Jurgen Damm (Tigres UANL) 

—Javier Aquino (Tigres UANL)


—Chicharito Hernandez (Bayer Leverkusen)

—Raul Jimenez (Benfica)

—Oribe Peralta (Club America)

—Tecatito Corona (Porto)

—Hiring Lozano (Pachuca)

A few surprises: Carlos Vela and Marco Fabian, two of the most naturally talented players available, miss out, as do both of the Dos Santos brothers (Giovani reportedly declined an invite).

This is a strong lineup, though, and Mexico should expect to advance to at least the quarterfinals with this roster, particularly given the current form of some of the Europe-based players.

Mexico National Team

Photo: @PumasUNAM_ENG | Twitter

Contact The18 staff writer Sam Klomhaus at or follow him on Twitter @SamKlomhaus

Videos you might like